Friday, May 24, 2024


eritrea landscape

eritrea location 160x175

Eritrea, officially the State of Eritrea, is a country in the Horn of Africa, with its capital at Asmara.  It is bordered by Sudan in the west, Ethiopia in the south, and Djibouti in the southeast.  The northeastern and eastern parts of Eritrea have an extensive coastline along the Red Sea.  The nation's total area includes the Dahlak Archipelago and several of the Hanish Islands.  Its toponym Eritrea is based on the Greek name for the Red Sea (Erythra Thalassa), which was first adopted for Italian Eritrea in 1890.