20th November, 2015

Legal Notice No. 240

THE PROTECTED AREAS ACT (Cap. 204)

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by section 3(1) of the Protected Areas Act, the Cabinet Secretary for Defence makes the following Order –

THE PROTECTED AREAS ORDER, 2015

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Protected Areas Order, 2015
- 2. The areas and premises described in the Schedules are declared to be protected areas for the purposes of the Act, and no person shall be in the areas without permission of the authority prescribed in paragraph 3 or the Cabinet Secretary for Defence.
- 3. For the purposes of this Order and the Act, the prescribed authority shall be:
- (a) in respect of the Protected Areas described in the First Schedule, the Commander of the Kenya Army.
- (b) in respect of the Protected Areas described in the Second Schedule, the Commander of the Kenya Air Force.
- (c) in respect of the Protected Areas described in the Third Schedule, the Commander of the Kenya Navy.

FIRST SCHEDULE

Married quarters at Camp David, Langata, Nairobi.

Nairobi Hurlingham flats, Nairobi. L.R No. 209/379/3 Nairobi.

Karen residence, Nairobi. L.R No. 7336/43 Nairobi.

Mugoya Estate South C, Nairobi.L.R No. 209/10548/178 Nairobi. Kileleshwa riverside, Nairobi. L.R No. 4580/12 Nairobi.

DHQ Annex Kileleshwa, Nairobi, L.R. No. 209/3046 Nairobi.

77 Artillery Batallion Barracks at Mariakani, Mombasa.

Kuraze Training Area, at Mombasa.

Baragoni Military Training Camp, at Baragoni.

Nanyuki Range at Nanyuki.

School of Artillery, at Isiolo.

Kipsing Training Area, at Isiolo.

Larisoro Training Area, at Samburu.

Kenya Army Ammunition Depot, Gathiuru, at Gathiuru, Nanyuki.

Ilbisil Training Area, at Ilbisil.

50 Air Cavalry Batallion Training Camp, at Samburu.

Nanyuki Kangaita Rifle Range, at Nanyuki.

Ngong Rifle Range, at Ngong.

Ngong Range, at Kibiko, Rift Valley.

Lion Hill Rifle Range, at Naivasha.

Rumuruti Training Area, at Rumuruti.

Turkana training areas and Forward operating Base at L. Turkana.

Archers post training Area.

Wamba Training Complex, at Wamba.

Maralal Training Complex, at Maralal.

Majimoto Training Complex, at Maralal.

Lodwar Training Area, at Lodwar.

Pokot Training Complex, at Pokot.

Lokichar Training Complex, at Lokichar.

Nginyang Training Complex, at Marigat.

School of Artillery in Isiolo.

New Wajir Military Camp, at Wajir.

Marsabit military camp, at Marsabit.

Banantega Military Camp, at Bungoma, Mt. Elgon.

Garissa New Military Camp, at Garissa.

Mandera New Military Camp, at Mandera.

Liboi Military Camp at Liboi.

Diff Military Camp at Diff.

El Wak Military Camp at El Wak.

Hulugho Military Camp at Hulugho.

Masalani Military Camp at Masalani.

Shakani Military Camp at Shakani.

Gitura Repeater station at Gitura.

Eburu repeater station at Eburu.

Falkland repeater station at Falkland.

Nyambene Repeater station at Nyambene.

Poror Repeater Station at Poror.

Londiani Repeater station at Londiani.

Kanyagia Repeater station at Kanyagia.

Solio repeater station at Solio.

Gachuiro Repeater station at Gachuiro.

Ngong repeater station at Ngong.

Mwana Mwinga repeater station at Mwana Mwinga.

Chulu repeater station at Chulu.

Mutara repeater station at Mutara.

Embori repeater station at Embori.

SECOND SCHEDULE

Moi Air base Eastleigh, at Nairobi.

Runda Air House, at Nairobi. Laikipia Air Base, at Laikipia. Narok Airstrip Training Camp, at Narok. Lanet Airstrip. Manda Airstrip. Mandera Airstrip.

THIRD SCHEDULE

Msambweni (Tumbe) Masura at Msambweni, Mombasa. Shimoni Mainland Masura Station Camp, at Shimoni, Mombasa. Diani Masura Station Camp, at Mombasa. Kilifi Masura, at Kilifi. Malindi Masura Station Camp, at Malindi. Ngomeni New Masura, at Ngomeni. Kinondo Diving Training Area at Mombasa. Lamu Amphibious Landing Base, at Lamu.

Dated the 4th November, 2015.

RAYCHELLE OMAMO, Cabinet Secretary for Defence.